The Skeptical Teacher

Musings of a science teacher & skeptic in an age of woo.

The Skeptical Teacher Talks About “Ghost Meters” on SETI Radio’s Skeptic Check

Posted by mattusmaximus on April 7, 2010

Okay, shameless plug time :)

This past Friday I had the priviledge of being interviewed by SETI astronomer Seth Shostak on SETI Radio’s monthly “Skeptic Check” segment. Apparently, Seth and executive producer Molly Bentley had caught the article that I wrote to Skeptical Inquirer magazine about the Edmund (Pseudo)Scientific ghost detector (my blog post on the subject is here) and how that once respected science teaching outlet had now decided to go down the rabbit hole of nonsense.

It’s a short interview (only about 6-7 minutes long), and you can listen to it here (fast forward to the 24:00 mark to get to my interview)…

3 Responses to “The Skeptical Teacher Talks About “Ghost Meters” on SETI Radio’s Skeptic Check”

  1. kordic said

    Awesome job, the entire podcast was great as well.

  2. ExcellentJob said

    I agree, good job on the report Matt.

    I also listened to the whole podcast and overall it was very good too. Don’t know if I agree with much of what that writer was saying towards the end though, and in the actual article he wrote (which I read), I noticed he took one or two quotes out of context as well. In my opinion, sounded like the psychologist he was referencing was just looking for a “niche” area of study to make a name for himself ( I came to this conclusion after reading several different articles about him). Don’t know how detailed he actually took it before settling on his own results, plus in several other articles, it sounded like he was pretty overwhelmed in that type of environment. (It also now seems he makes a living off of doing seminars at various places on the topic).

    Anyway, just my personal opinion and by the responses to some of the articles, appears I am not the only one with those thoughts. If nothing else, it does make one do a quick personal introspection which I think could never hurt.

    Regardless, this post is about Matt’s portion and I must say again, good job and good to hear you! :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

