The Skeptical Teacher

Musings of a science teacher & skeptic in an age of woo.

Welcome to The Skeptical Teacher!

Posted by mattusmaximus on January 12, 2009

Greetings and welcome to my new blog.  My name is Matt and I’m a high school physics teacher (plus a part-time physics & astronomy college professor) with a strong interest in promoting science education & critical thinking among my students and the population in general.  I am a self-described skeptic, someone who believes in Carl Sagan’s adage that “extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence.”

The purpose of this blog is to allow me to expound upon various topics related to skepticism, science, and education.  Some of my posts will be about specific topics – such as scientific illiteracy, pseudoscience, tips & tools for promoting skepticism & critical thinking in the classroom, current events in the news, etc.  Other posts could consist of my random thoughts of the day.  I might post regularly, but since I’m a pretty busy guy there will likely be times when I’m away from the blog for a few days.

If you ever have questions, criticisms, or wish to leave me feedback, feel free to contact me.  I will attempt to respond to all communication in a timely manner.  Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

 
