The Skeptical Teacher

Musings of a science teacher & skeptic in an age of woo.

Skeptic’s Annotated Bible Needs Your Help!

Posted by mattusmaximus on August 11, 2010

If you’re like me and you are rather skeptical of various claims made by religious fundamentalists regarding the accuracy, or “inerrancy” as they call it, of their holy books, then you might find a useful resource in the Skeptic’s Annotated Bible (SAB). Actually, the SAB critically analyzes not just the Bible, but also the Quran (Koran) and Book of Mormon as well. I have found it an extremely useful resource when arguing with someone who claims their “literal” reading of the Bible is sensible or even consistent; note that the SAB, to my knowledge, doesn’t really get into the question of God’s existence, it tends to just stick with the question of the logical fallacies within these holy texts…

In any case, the reason why I say the SAB needs your help is simple: there is, as of this writing, no iPhone or similar app for the SAB. The creator of the SAB, Steve Wells, and I have been in contact about creating just such an app, as we both think it would be a great way to get these critical arguments out there, but Steve has neither the time nor technical expertise to program an app.

So, I told him that I would write a blog post asking the skeptical community for help, and here it is.  If you, or anyone you know, has experience writing app’s for the iPhone (or Droid, etc) and you’re interested in helping Steve out, please let him know – his email is swwells [AT] gmail [dot] com – tell Steve I sent you🙂

15 Responses to “Skeptic’s Annotated Bible Needs Your Help!”

  1. Joel said

    I wish I could help. I’d like to see an accompanying Android app as well.

  2. […] Skeptic's Annotated Bible Needs Your Help! […]

  3. Kateweb said

    I was just looking in the app store for an app and sadly Google shows me that not one exists yet😦

  4. stevenhamblin said

    Okay, so I’m a little late to the party here – but since a search of the app store didn’t turn anything up, I presume that this problem was never solved. Was it? If it wasn’t, I might be able to help. I’ve written iOS apps before, and this seems like a nice little side project that I might be able to help out with if there’s still interest.

  5. stevenhamblin said

    Ah, you know what, I don’t know how I managed to miss the email in this post. I’ll drop him a line directly and see what’s up…

  6. hairenya said

    Is there a mailing list we can subscribe to in order to let us know when the app is completed?

  7. hairenya said

    Is there some sort of mailing list we can subscribe to in order to be notified of when the apps are ready?

  8. juberberry said

    What about exporting it to PDF? There are many PDF readers out there.

  9. ShadowLord said

    If there is still no app for android, I may be able to help. I assume one could borrow the artwork on the skeptics annotated page? How do we start the ball rolling?

    • mattusmaximus said

      If you’re interested in programming a SAB app, I suggest going to the SAB website and contacting the author, Steve Wells.

  10. William White said

    Apparently the superstitious holy rollers have highjacked SAB. when you search for it all that comes up is a BS christian site. Where do i find the real TRUTHFUL SAB???

    • mattusmaximus said

      I just did a Google search for “Skeptics Annotated Bible” and the real SAB came up as the first hit on my search, so it appears that whatever “hijacking” of the SAB that took place is over now.

Leave a Reply

 
