The Skeptical Teacher

Musings of a science teacher & skeptic in an age of woo.

Archive for July 8th, 2009

Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It’s Off to TAM I Go!!!

Posted by mattusmaximus on July 8, 2009

Well, tomorrow afternoon I fly out to Las Vegas to attend The Amazing Meeting 7 (or TAM7), the largest gathering of skeptics on the planet!  TAM is put on by the James Randi Educational Foundation (JREF), which was founded by famed magician and uber-skeptic James “The Amazing One” Randi. Here’s a photo from last year’s TAM of me and Randi…

HPIM3642

TAM7 promises to be quite sensational, not the least of which is because I am one of the few people participating in the very first TAM Talent Show 🙂

My “talent” will be performing a skeptical physics demonstration called the Bed of Nails – whereby I lay flat upon a bed of nails, have a second one placed on top of me, have a concrete block placed atop that, and have an assistant crush the block to pieces with a sledgehammer.  It looks like this…

PNW Demo Show - #2Piet Kreunen (with ax)

I hope to get plenty of photos & some video of the demonstration.  There will be plenty of other awesome things going on, and I’ll do my best to share those with you.  Stay tuned!  🙂

Posted in skeptical community | Tagged: , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »